Snapchat is a social network focused mainly on instant messaging, as an alternative to popular instant messaging app WhatsApp.
This app was launched by a group of university students with the main objective of ensuring that this platform offered a totally different quality service from other social networks.
They make it different from other instant messaging platforms adding their own touch to the application.
The application has achieved tremendous success and gained popularity worldwide.
It has been estimated that around 229 million people are already registered and active in this app focused on instant messaging, thus making it one of the most numerous platforms today.
This popular social network is also focused on instant messaging, therefore we will be able to chat with our added contacts and send all kinds of content.
In this messaging application, many process can be done to delete messages.
Snapchat provides the facility to its users to delete messages and conversations. Additionally, messages can be deleted under certain circumstances.
For example, as in any other messaging service, you can delete chats one by one or delete the entire mailbox.
In the same way, you can enter a chat and delete all the conversations you have had with that person.
You can also delete saved messages from Snapchat in case you no longer require them.
So if for some reason you send a message, then you regret sending the particular message and want to delete it, you will have to follow the correct steps to be able to completely remove it from the chat without the other person noticing it.
Here we will explain what you will have to do so that this message does not appear again.
How to Delete Saved Snapchat Messages?
If you don’t want to save the messages you had with your friend, you can delete them by simply saving the thread of the conversation.
Actually, there are 2 types of Snapchat messages, the first is the snap that is sent to friends with photos or videos and the second is the instant messages that you send or receive from friends.
You can delete your saved messages, but you cannot delete messages that have already been sent to the recipient.
If you no longer need the messages or have decided to delete your conversations, you can simply follow these steps:
- Although you cannot delete all your messages at once, you can delete individual messages.
- If you want to save a specific message in a conversation, just touch and hold the message field. A pop-up window will appear with some options: select Save to chat. The background of the saved message will be gray.
- Saving the message is just as easy. Press and hold again. The background will be normal again and when you open Snapchat again, the message will be automatically deleted as usual.
Delete Snapchat conversation
There is another way to avoid having to go through the process of manually searching and deleting saved messages.
This option is to completely delete the conversation you have had with a particular person.
In this sense, you can avoid the tedious process of selecting each message you want to delete and then clicking the delete button each time.
Deleting the conversation on Snapchat speeds up the deletion of messages.
You can delete all the conversations and chats you have had or you can delete only one chat with a certain person.
- For this, in the first option you must go to the button that looks like a gear that is the one that leads to the settings.
- Next, you must look at the bottom for the bar that marks delete conversations and you will have already done the process of deleting saved messages from Snapchat.
- On the other hand if you only want to delete a single conversation. The only thing you have to do is to click on the mark the X found on the side of the said chat. You can also click on the ghost icon that takes you to settings and there you must click on delete conversations and select the one you want to delete.
How do I remove conversations that don't go away easily?
When conversations or messages do not disappear even after deleting them, it is because someone has saved the message.
It may be that you or the person (s) you chatted with saved the message.
Therefore, if you want them to be removed permanently, you can try removing this message from your saved section.
If doing this doesn’t work, it’s because the other person has marked it as an important message and has it saved.
So you can kindly ask your friend to remove this distinction so that it can be deleted from your chat as well.
Can you delete Snapchat messages saved by your friend?
When a message is saved, it will be stored in both chats that is in your chat and the person’s chat.
However, when you want to remove or delete a message saved in this application, only your saved messages will be removed from your chat.
So to the other person, if they have it saved, the message will continue to appear in their saved messages space.
Therefore, you cannot delete your saved Snapchat messages when someone else saved them.
Some recommend using third party applications that supposedly delete the messages saved by other people.
However, this is not very useful because Snapchat may block your account.
Since you would be using external things that can be incompatible with the application.